the ZMWG and Armenian Women for Health and Healthy Environment (AWHHE)
 Invite You to a Global Webinar on New Findings on
Mercury Exposure and Contamination

29 November 2012

On the 4th December 2012, the Zero Mercury Working Group, in cooperation with scientists from the Biodiversity Research Institute and with other prominent scientists, is organizing a global webinar to release new findings that demonstrate extensive mercury contamination of seafood and to summarize recent studies that show health effects from methylmercury occurring below the level that was considered “safe” just a few years ago. Scientists will highlight new research and explain why current government “safety limits” should be strengthened worldwide. The reports will be released accompanied by a press release on the 4th December 2012. . This comes ahead of the final round of United Nations negotiations, scheduled in January 2013 for a global mercury treaty.

WHAT: Online Webinar – Panel Discussion

WHEN: December 4, 2012 — 8:30 AM CET
Verify the time in your county through
Indicative times: Washington DC/Ottawa (2.30 AM EST), London/Yamoussoukro (7:30 AM GMT), Brussels (8:30 AM CET), Nairobi (10.30 AM EAT), Yerevan/Moscow (11:30 AM AMT/MST, Islamabad (12.30 PKT), Delhi (13.00 IST), Jakarta (14.30 WIB), Beijing/Manila (15.30 CST/PHT), Tokyo (16.30 JST)


Dr. Philippe Grandjean – Denmark , Professor and chair of environmental medicine, University of Southern Denmark, Adviser to the Danish National Board of Health, and Professor at Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Grandjean, has followed 1000 Faroese children born in the late 1980s with increased methylmercury exposures.

Dr. David Evers – USA, Executive Director and Chief Scientist of  Biodiversity Research Institute, a nonprofit ecological research group based in Maine. Dr. Evers in a member of the UNEP Fate and Transport Partnership group. BRI is a leader in research designed to understand the exposure and effects of mercury in wildlife and ecosystems.  

Dr. Takashi Yorifuji – Japan, MD and epidemiologist, Associate Professor at Okayama University medical school, served as post-doctorate at Harvard University, has studied Minamata disease and published wídely on the long-term consequences of methylmercury exposure in Japan.

Dr. Edward Groth III – USA,  Worked on environmental health issues at Consumers Union from 1979 to 2004 and currrently serves as an advisor to the Gelfond Fund for Mercury Research and Outreach at Stonybrook University,  NY.  In recent years, Dr. Groth has advised WHO and FAO on such issues as methylmercury in fish and runs Groth Consulting Services.


To access the webinar, please register at
Webinar ID: 116-709-715

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.
Please ensure you have the latest Java update and View System Requirements.

Participants can use their computer’s microphone and speakers (VoIP) or telephone. A headset is recommended. Or, you may select “Use Telephone” after joining the Webinar

United States
Toll: +1 (646) 307-1716
Access Code: 798-491-227
Audio PIN: Shown after joining the webinar

Note: please visit this link to register for the webinar at least 15 minutes prior to the start time.


The ZeroMercury Working Group (ZMWG) is an international coalition of 94 public interest environmental and health non-governmental organizations from 52 countries from around the world formed in 2005 by the European Environmental Bureau and the Mercury Policy Project. ZMWG strives for zero supply, demand, and emissions of mercury from all anthropogenic sources, with the goal of reducing mercury in the global environment to a minimum. Our mission is to advocate and support the adoption and implementation of a legally binding instrument which contains mandatory obligations to eliminate where feasible, and otherwise minimize, the global supply and trade of mercury, the global demand for mercury, anthropogenic releases of mercury to the environment, and human and wildlife exposure to

The mission of Biodiversity Research Institute is to assess emerging threats to wildlife and ecosystems through collaborative research, and to use scientific findings to advance environmental awareness and inform decision makers. BRI researchers work throughout the world in a variety of ecosystems and with a variety of wildlife species. Since its inception, the Institute has been a leader in research designed to understand the exposure and effects of mercury in ecosystems. To learn more about BRI’s Center for Mercury Studies, visit  

  • EMBARGOED RELEASE for 00.01 CET 4 December 2012
    Evidence shows mercury threat underestimated ahead of UN treaty talks (Download ENG | RUS